Rhondda Cynon Taf is a county borough council in south Wales. It covers five valleys and its principal towns are Aberdare, Llantrisant, Talbot Green, Pontyridd, Maerdy, Ferndale, Hirwaun, Llanharan, Mountain Ash, Porth, Tonypany, Tonyrefail and Treorchy.

Rhondda Cynon Taf is one of five local authorities in the Central South Consortium Joint Education Service.

The school population is the second largest in Wales and numbers over 36,000. The authority is responsible for 114 schools. 

There are 92 primary schools with an average of 223 pupils, ranging from Rhigos Primary with 68 pupils to Pontyclun Primary with just under 497 pupils. 

There are 13 secondary schools with an average of 984 pupils. Of these only one does not have a sixth form.

With five through schools, Rhondda Cynon Taf has the most through schools in Wales. Three of these have sixth forms. 

There are four special schools, all of which have post-16 provision.

Of the 92 primary schools, 13 are Welsh medium and three are dual stream. There are three Welsh medium secondary schools. Two of the through schools are also Welsh medium.

Follow the links below for more information and analysis . . .