Blaenau Gwent is a County Borough Council in South East Wales. The authority covers the post-industrial communities of Abertillery, Blaina, Brynmawr, Ebbw Vale, Nantyglo and Tredegar. 

Blaenau Gwent is one of the five local authorities in the Education Achievement Service (EAS) for South East Wales.

The school population is the second smallest in Wales at just under 9000 students, and the authority is responsible for the smallest number of schools in Wales. 

There are 19 primary schools ranging in size from St Joseph's Roman Catholic Primary in Ashvale, Tredegar with c. 100 pupils to Willowtown Primary School in Ebbw Vale with c. 400 pupils. 

There are two secondary schools—Brynmawr Foundation School and Tredegar Comprehensive School—neither of which has a sixth form and both of which have between 600 and 700 students. And there are two through schools—Abertillery Learning Community (c. 1550 students) and Ebbw Fawr Learning Community (c. 1200 students). Neither of the through schools have sixth forms. All A level education in Blaenau Gwent is provided at the Blaenau Gwent Learning Zone of Coleg Gwent in Ebbw Vale. The local authority is not therefore responsible for post-16 education in the area and our analysis does not include it. 

The authority has responsibility for two special schools: Pen-y-Cwm near Ebbw Vale, which does have post-16 provision, and the River Centre Learning Community, which does not.

There is one Welsh-medium primary school (Ysgol Gymraeg Bro Helyg) and no Welsh-medium secondary school.

Follow the links below for more information and analysis . . .